Planning Commission

Planning Commission

Committee Expectations

The Planning Commission is comprised of nine individuals who are responsible for the preparation and adoption of the master plan for the City, review of recommendation of action on changes in zoning and land use and review of development requests for new residential, commercial and industrial development. Applicants should have an interest and desire for the planned and orderly development of the City of Kentwood, as well as the ability to review apply zoning ordinance standards to proposed development with the assistance of recommendations and reports generated by the Planning staff, as well as input from the applicants and the public. 


The Planning Commission meets at 7 p.m. on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month as needed. Members serve for three-year terms.

Please note: Planning Commission meetings are now in person. 

You can view the application deadline and meeting schedule, Planning Commission application and year-end report below:


  • Sandra Jones
  • Ed Kape
  • Alex Porter 
  • Ray Poyner
  • Doug VanderMeer
  • Sarah Weir
  • Darius Quinn
  • Vacancy
  • Vacancy
Agendas & Minutes

Please contact the Planning Department at 616.554.0707 or if you have any questions.

Get Involved

Interested in getting involved and serving the community? We welcome residents to participate in a variety of boards and committees and are always accepting applications. Please send completed committee applications to